Chatbox

Discussions About Anything Civilized, Hacking or Not

Moderators: g3nuin3, SpeedWing, WhiteHat, mezzo

Chatbox

Postby Cookie » Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:27 am

Chatbox on teh forumz pleeeeeeeeez ,So den I wouldn't have to make useless topics like dis and spam ;_;
User avatar
Cookie
Hack-Master Hex
 
Posts: 611
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:07 pm
Location: here it would seem

Re: Chatbox

Postby SpeedWing » Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:29 am

agreed, it would be a good idea, members could communicate via an other way than just posting.
User avatar
SpeedWing
Defragler
 
Posts: 2031
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:00 am
Location: If there is a Will there is a Solution.

Re: Chatbox

Postby L. Spiro » Tue Dec 29, 2009 8:59 am

Find someone who can code it.


L. Spiro
Our songs remind you of songs you’ve never heard.
User avatar
L. Spiro
L. Spiro
 
Posts: 3129
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:14 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Chatbox

Postby Cookie » Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:03 am

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 0&t=543865
Beta phbb shoutbox.
If it's asking u to run the query
Code: Select all
ALTER TABLE phpbb_chat CHANGE bbcode_uid bbcode_uid varchar(8) NOT NULL default '';

Then use 110dbmanager, just open it up, login, select the database and paste that code in the large text box. If you don't have it, then create a PHP page with this:
Code: Select all
<?php
mysql_connect("localhost","<DATABASE USER>","<PASSWORD>");
mysql_select_db("<DATABASE NAME>");
mysql_query(" ALTER TABLE phpbb_chat CHANGE bbcode_uid bbcode_uid varchar(8) NOT NULL default ''; ");
?>

Most of this info is over google.
User avatar
Cookie
Hack-Master Hex
 
Posts: 611
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:07 pm
Location: here it would seem

Re: Chatbox

Postby qjqqyy » Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:43 pm

edit the template html files and create a div for the chatbox
maybe increase the margin right of every div
then create a new div
size it
set it to absolute positioning
control its margin and padding
in the div, put the shoutbox
just hack the css
it's hard work
Made by speedwing

Image
qjqqyy
Been Around More
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:12 pm
Location: Singapore GMT+8

Re: Chatbox

Postby L. Spiro » Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:50 pm

Wouldn't it be easier to just run an IRC channel?


L. Spiro
Our songs remind you of songs you’ve never heard.
User avatar
L. Spiro
L. Spiro
 
Posts: 3129
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:14 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Chatbox

Postby qjqqyy » Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:55 pm

first
tell me how to configure bloody pidgin to run IRC
i can only use Quassel
which means that i can't chat IRC in windows
u have to create a subdomain and open another port
...
i'd rather hack the HTML and CSS and attach a cbox

edit:
u borrow a channel from freenode.net?

editedit:
i mean register
like
irc.freenode.net:6667#mhs
Made by speedwing

Image
qjqqyy
Been Around More
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:12 pm
Location: Singapore GMT+8

Re: Chatbox

Postby L. Spiro » Tue Dec 29, 2009 3:34 pm

I am not talking about setting up an IRC server. Just a channel.

irc.tribalwar.com:6667#MHS


Official channel of MHS.
I will idle there when I am able.


L. Spiro
Our songs remind you of songs you’ve never heard.
User avatar
L. Spiro
L. Spiro
 
Posts: 3129
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:14 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Chatbox

Postby qjqqyy » Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:32 pm

but what we want is to chat and access the forum at the same time
u expect us to browse mhs on firefox and run pidgin IRC at the same time
multitasking is bad
Made by speedwing

Image
qjqqyy
Been Around More
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:12 pm
Location: Singapore GMT+8

Re: Chatbox

Postby SpeedWing » Tue Dec 29, 2009 8:15 pm

L. Spiro wrote:I am not talking about setting up an IRC server. Just a channel.

irc.tribalwar.com:6667#MHS


Official channel of MHS.
I will idle there when I am able.


L. Spiro


the channel does not exist :S
User avatar
SpeedWing
Defragler
 
Posts: 2031
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:00 am
Location: If there is a Will there is a Solution.

Re: Chatbox

Postby qjqqyy » Wed Dec 30, 2009 4:27 pm

SpeedWing wrote:
L. Spiro wrote:I am not talking about setting up an IRC server. Just a channel.

irc.tribalwar.com:6667#MHS


Official channel of MHS.
I will idle there when I am able.


L. Spiro


the channel does not exist :S


make sure that the case is correct
IRC and stuff is case sensitive
Made by speedwing

Image
qjqqyy
Been Around More
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:12 pm
Location: Singapore GMT+8

Re: Chatbox

Postby SpeedWing » Wed Dec 30, 2009 8:11 pm

qjqqyy wrote:
SpeedWing wrote:
L. Spiro wrote:I am not talking about setting up an IRC server. Just a channel.

irc.tribalwar.com:6667#MHS


Official channel of MHS.
I will idle there when I am able.


L. Spiro


the channel does not exist :S


make sure that the case is correct
IRC and stuff is case sensitive


I know. it was correct.
User avatar
SpeedWing
Defragler
 
Posts: 2031
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:00 am
Location: If there is a Will there is a Solution.

Re: Chatbox

Postby qjqqyy » Wed Dec 30, 2009 8:44 pm

SpeedWing wrote:
qjqqyy wrote:
SpeedWing wrote:the channel does not exist :S


make sure that the case is correct
IRC and stuff is case sensitive


I know. it was correct.


try all letters in lowercase
from my experience in using IRC, Khannels are usually in lowerKase
so it is
~~~~:6667#mhs
remember not to include HTTP://
try it
btw Kan anyone tell me step by step instruKtions (with sKreenshots) on how to set up pidgin with IRC?
-----------------------
edit
i noe how to make a floating cbox(chatbox) in phpbb
Made by speedwing

Image
qjqqyy
Been Around More
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:12 pm
Location: Singapore GMT+8


Return to Social/Unrelated

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests